How I Curl My Hair

For some reason, unknown to me and my hairdresser, my hair just doesn’t like to hold a curl. Super annoying and because I’m not a fan of crispy hairspray-covered curls, I have been on the hunt for some products that make my curls last longer than 5 minutes.

This is what my hair looks like naturally.

fullsizeoutput_ec8


I usually curl my hair on the day I wash it because I like the look of silky curls instead of greasy ones ha ha (my hair gets oily at the roots really quickly, annoyingly!). Because of this, I have to use product to give my hair texture a bit more ‘grit’ for a curl to hold onto. Before I even consider starting to curl my hair, I blow dry it really thoroughly. Applying heat from a curling iron or pair of straighteners onto wet or damp hair will fry it and ruin your hair. Before blow drying my hair, I smooth through a pump of Moroccan Oil to give my hair shine and makes it feel super soft.

I then divide my hair up into sections using crocodile clips. I find this is the easiest, and quickest way to section off my hair without making it super knotty that I find a hairband will do.

fullsizeoutput_ecd


I then take each section that I’ve left down with my GHD Style Curl Hold Spray. It feels really unnatural spraying a wet product onto dry hair but it soaks in quite quickly and doesn’t leave the hair feeling sticky at all, nor does it make it greasy. I got this product for Christmas and I don’t know what it is about it but for some reason, my waves/curls just seem to last a bit better when I use it.

fullsizeoutput_ed1


I use the GHD Curve Soft Curl tong which is a 32mm barrel with a clamp.

fullsizeoutput_eca

Next, I take varying-sized sections of hair and wrap the hair around the barrel of my curling tong with the clamp open. Once I’ve wrapped the whole strand of hair, I then close the barrel and leave it for about 5-7 seconds. You’ll know it’s been long enough when you can feel the heat of the tong through the hair. To get a beachy, natural wave I wrap all the sections of hair the same way around the barrel – away from my face. For some reason, this also makes the waves last that bit better. If I’m going on a night out or something, however, I will wrap the curls in alternating directions to give it a more ‘piece-y’ look.

fullsizeoutput_ed5fullsizeoutput_ed7When I think the curl has been heated for long enough, I re-open the clamp and slide the hair off into my hand. I hold it for a few seconds to ‘set’ the curl slightly and then let it go. I will repeat this again and again until the whole section of hair is done. Again, if I’m going on a night out, I do something slightly different to get a different type of curl. I like to slide the curl off the barrel and then pin the curl in place to let it set. For this, I use bobby-pins or silver ‘duck-mouth clips’ that you will often see these being used backstage for runway events or photo shoots. Find the ones I use here.

fullsizeoutput_eda


Once I’ve completed a whole section, I give it a light spritz of hairspray to make sure it doesn’t all drop out straight away. Because I don’t like a crunchy hairspray feeling, I use L’Oréal Elnett because if you accidently go a bit heavy handed, it brushes out with your fingers, no problem.

 

fullsizeoutput_ee6


I then repeat this process on all of the sections of my hair until it’s all done.

fullsizeoutput_ee0fullsizeoutput_ee3


Once it’s finished, it always looks a bit odd so I like to tip my head upside down and run my fingers through before finishing it off with another light spritz of hairspray.

fullsizeoutput_ee7fullsizeoutput_eed


And there you have it, a head of pretty natural, everyday waves. This is my go-to look when I can be bothered to do something more than just through it up into a ponytail.

fullsizeoutput_ef0


Let me know what you think and if you have any tips on making your curls last. Would love to hear them.

Annie xo

fullsizeoutput_ef2


 

Leave a Reply

